Archive for April 19th, 2012

h1

Fortuitous PLN

April 19, 2012

Fortuitous PLN – Click Here to read Jeanette’s post.

I met Jeannette James at a #teachmeet and then shared a meal with her afterwards at the #teacheat. We were excited to exchange Twitter names so that we could ‘follow each other’ and continue the exchange of ideas. It has been a long time since that first encounter and I have marvelled at how Jeanette’s enthusiasm for learning and networking impacts what she does as a teacher. Sometimes I just sit and watch and observe how others do this global connection ‘thing.’ I love the energy of it all but I am still discovering my voice and where to jump in.

What about you? Are you like the little guy in this clip just building your passions regardless of whether anyone ever notices the work that you do? Do you find your work interesting, challenging and absorbing? Being a teacher is an intrinsicly rewarding profession but even the most noble amongst us sometimes feels a little isolated.

Pink writes (2009) “Human beings have an innate inner drive to be autonomous, self-determined and connected with one another. And when that drive is liberated, people achieve more and live richer lives”p.72. I loved teaching before I discovered Twitter but I love being connected to others and sharing the journey.

What about you? How has Twitter changed the way you teach?

Pink,D. (2009) Drive. The surprising truth about what motivates us. Canongate Books.